A Question for Bill Maher

I’m a little slow, but I get there, eventually.

I mean, as long as I’m talking, or my keyboard is clicking, and given enough time, I can occasionally get to the meat of a matter. If I never talk about a thing, I may never evolve about it, and that’s often the case, but sometimes, as they say, even a blind squirrel. The point is, my brain is wired through my mouth.

So I’ve been working through this little Twitterstorm, putting my two cents in with every baby step my plodding little mind takes regarding Bill Maher’s position regarding Islam’s perceived  doctrinal human rights crimes, and here is the present state of my . . . thoughts, for lack of a better word, about it.

Who are the liberals that won’t call the Muslim-majority societies out for their oppressive ways? I’m starting to think that I’ve been fighting a ghost, that this entire controversy began with a strawman argument. WhoTF, liberal or otherwise, has been caught saying “we shouldn’t bother Muslim-majority country X about their treatment of women/infidels/homosexuals because that’s just their culture (or some such reason)?” Who says anything remotely like that?

Now, with the answer to that question hanging in the air – it seems rhetorical to me, I assume the answer is either no-one or nearly no-one – the next question is, what is the point of this phony outrage against these non-existent silent liberals? If these non-existent people who do not condemn human rights violations perpetrated in Muslim countries are not hearing the message, then who is? The answer to that I really will leave in the realm of the rhetorical, except to say what I’ve said in previous rants: this is fuel for the fires of war.

Now, perhaps I’m wrong.

I can’t imagine what fool would refuse to condemn the sorts of abuses so famously listed as committed in many Muslim-majority countries, but perhaps I see the world through beautifying glasses, perhaps I give liberals too much credit. If anyone can tell me who has been suggesting we don’t condemn these acts, please, feel free to enlighten me, please, out them for me, name the names.

Mr. Maher, I know you don’t have to answer to me, an internet nobody. Maybe if the question were posed by a somebody and a peer, like a comedian . . .

Mr. S? Would you mind?

“Oh, all right, all right, I’ll do it . . . ahem. Bill? Who are these people?”

🙂

Leave a comment